Doily lamp shade

Ok, so things don’t always go the way you hope but that’s no reason to give up eh? Take my lastest crafting attempt. I’d come across this idea from a while ago and thought it looked fun. I’d forgotten about it until a trip to my local laboratory store and saw they’d used the idea for their latest window display, so I jumped into action.

Now the original article I saw called for wall paper paste which I’ve discovered is not that easy to find in Australia!? I have no idea why but when you do find it in bunnings it costs a fortune! But I won’t go on, because other comments said using mod podge worked just as well. Hmmmm, not only did this turn out to be quite expensive, and messy, it turned the pretty white doilies yellow 😦 I figured I could always spay the doilies with paint later though.

,

20110831-114837.jpg

Unfortunately when I popped the balloon the doilies weren’t quite dry and it collapsed – impatience ruins another project!

20110902-021945.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Crap Craft, techniques, Things to make

One response to “Doily lamp shade

  1. Rodger Ledebuhr

    There are already some LED lampshades these days which consumes less electricity.:

    Our homepage
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

